View : 481 Download: 0

무조음악에서의 비화성음(Non-Chord Tones)

무조음악에서의 비화성음(Non-Chord Tones)
Other Titles
The Non-Chord Tones in Atonal Music : Analyses of Arnold Schoenberg’s ‘Wenn ich heut nicht deinen Leib berühre,’ no. 8 from Das Buch der hängenden Gärten, Josef Matthias Hauer’s Zwölftonspiel(April 1956), and Elliott Carter’s ‘Fratribute’ from Tri-tribute
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원

‘조성’이라는 체계 안에서 이루어졌던 이전 시기의 음악과 달리 현대음악은 빠르게 변모하는 시대적 현상과 작곡가의 특성에 따라 다양한 양식으로 나타난다. 이러한 모습은 현대음악의 이해를 보다 어렵게 만드는 요인이기도 하다. 그래서 학자들은 현대음악의 이해도를 높이고자 체계적인 분석을 시도하였는데, 그 중 한 방법이 작품의 구조음과 비화성음을 구분하는 것이었다. 이는 현대음악 분석에 있어 이론 학자들 사이에서 오랫동안 논의되어온 주제이기도 하다. 본 논문은 무조음악에서 구조음과 비화성음(non-chord tones)을 어떻게 구분할 수 있는지 살펴보는 데 목적을 두고 있다. 이를 위하여 먼저 이론적 연구를 검토해 보고자 한다. 이를 통해 학자들이 조성 이후의 음악부터 현대음악에 이르기까지, 작품 안에서 비화성음을 구분해 보고자 어떠한 연구를 하였는지 알아볼 것이다. 이후, 아르놀트 쇤베르크(Arnold Schoenberg, 1874-1951), 요제프 마티아스 하우어(Josef Matthias Hauer, 1883-1959), 그리고 엘리엇 카터(Elliott Carter, 1908-2012), 이렇게 세 작곡가의 작품을 분석해 봄으로써 구조음과 비화성음이 작품 내에서 어떻게 나타나고 있는지 살펴볼 것이다. 쇤베르크는 모티브 집합을 중심으로 다양하게 나타나는 집합 간의 연관성을 살펴보면서 비화성음이 어떻게 구분될 수 있는지 알아보고자 한다. 하우어는 자신만의 12음 기법을 사용하여 작품을 작곡하였는데, 그가 제시한 12음 체계, 즉 컨티뉴엄(Kontinuum)은 작품 안에서 일정한 규칙에 따라 반복적으로 나타난다. 이처럼 하우어만의 특정한 구조 또는 규칙이 나타나는 작품에서 비화성음이 어떻게 나타나고 있는지 살펴보기로 한다. 카터는 핵심코드를 중심으로 작품을 구성하였는데 이를 중심으로 그의 작품에서 어떤 음들이 비화성음으로 제시되고 있는지 알아보고자 한다. 곡의 분석을 통해 현대음악에 적용되는 분석 방법이 작품의 양식에 따라 다르며, 구조음과 비화성음의 해석 또한 음악적 맥락에 따라 상이하나 무조음악에서 구조음과 비화성음의 분석은 곡의 구조를 체계적으로 이해하는 기초적이며 필수적임을 알 수 있다. 이를 통하여 무조음악의 분석에 있어 하나의 방법을 제안하고, 무조음악의 작품 구조를 보다 체계적으로 이해할 수 있는데 도움이 되기를 기대해 본다.;While the western music in the past had a unified system called ‘tonality’, the contemporary classical music has unlimited shapes. Simultaneously, this unlimitedness makes people hard to understand the contemporary classical music. For this reason, the scholars have tried diverse and systematic analytical methods to understand it better. One of the methods is to figure out what the non-chord tones are, which is a topic that has been discussed for a long time by the scholars who study contemporary classical music. Accordingly, this thesis is ultimately to discuss how to recognize and define the non-chord tones in atonal music. In the first part, I will examine the theoretical methods that the scholars have applied to recognize the non-chord tones in works from the post-tonal music to the contemporary classical music. In the second part, I will analyze the works by Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951), Josef Matthias Hauer (1883-1959), and Elliott Carter (1908-2012). In Schoenberg’s work, I will focus on the motive set. Specifically, in set-class space by Joseph N. Straus, the relationship between the diverse motive sets appeared in Schoenberg’s work will be examined. Based on this, it will be able to see how the non-chord tones are interpreted. Additionally, in Hauer’s work, his own twelve-tone technique, Kontinuum, repeatedly appears by a consistent structural rule. I focus on how to figure out the non-chord tones in the work composed with Hauer’s particular structure. Lastly, Carter has composed with his preferred ‘core chord’ which is mainly and importantly used in his work. Along this characteristics of his work, I figure out which tones are used as the non-chord tones. Through looking into three works, it will be able to learn that the applied analysis on the contemporary classical music is diverse depending on the style of works since the interpretations on the non-chord tones are also diverse depending on musical context. Consequently, finding the non-chord tones is fundamental and required in order to systematically and easily understand the entire structure of work.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Ph.D
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)