View : 268 Download: 0

Program Annotation

Program Annotation
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원
The purpose of this thesis is to analyze the numbers of my graduation concert repertoires, 「Drei Lieder der Ophelia, Op. 67」 by Richard Strauss(1864-1949), 「Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in B flat Major, FP. 184」 by Francis Poulenc(1899-1963), 「Sonata for Piano and Violin in A Major」 by Cesar Franck(1822-1890). By examining the background and musical characteristics, it will provide better understanding of the composer’s intentions and thus insight for better performance of the piece. Richard Strauss is one of Germany’s leading composers of the late Romantic era who left an accomplishment in program music and symphonic poem. During his lifetime Strauss composed more than a hundred and fifty Lieds and these pieces put importance in the harmony of piano accompaniment, and requires an orchestral approach. 「Drei Lieder der Ophelia, Op. 67」 was inspired by Ophelia from 「Hamlet」, a play written by the English poet and writer William Shakespeare(1564-1616). Francis Poulenc is one of France’s leading modern composer from the 20th century. He pursued Neoclassicism, a twentieth century development, that emphasized clarity and balance in melody and structure. 「Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in B flat Major, FP. 184」 is a representing number of such Neoclassicism in music and consists of three movements: The first movement is titled Allegro Tristamente, the second, Romanza, and the third marks Allegro Con Fuoco. Cesar Franck is Belgium composer from France and a organist. While having a strong religious overtone, his work contributed greatly in creating an infrastructure of instrumental music and chamber music using cyclic form and chromatic scale. 「Sonata for Piano and Violin in A Major」, Franck’s only violin sonata, was written when he was 64 as a present to E. Ysaye(1858-1931), a violinist from Belgium. The work is cyclic in nature and has four movements. This thesis will examine the lives of the three composers and the features of their music, discuss the background of their compositions, and analyze musical pieces in purpose of providing insight for better performance.; 본 논문은 필자의 석사 졸업 리사이틀 때 연주된 작품들을 연구한 것으로, 리하르트 슈트라우스(R. Strauss, 1864-1949)의 「오필리아의 세 개의 노래(Drei Lieder der Ophelia) Op. 67」, 프란시스 뿔랑(F. Poulenc, 1899-1963)의 「클라리넷과 피아노를 위한 소나타(Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in B flat Major) FP. 184」, 세자르 프랑크(C. Franck, 1822-1890)의 「바이올린과 피아노를 위한 소나타 A장조(Sonata for Piano and Violin in A Major)」의 작곡 배경과 음악적 특징 그리고 음악 분석을 통해서 작곡가의 의도를 분명히 이해하고 연주할 수 있도록 도움을 주기 위한 것을 목적으로 한다. 리하르트 슈트라우스는 근대 독일을 대표하는 작곡가이자 표제음악과 교향시에서 큰 업적을 남긴 후기 낭만파 작곡가이다. 그는 전 생애에 걸쳐 150여곡의 가곡을 작곡하였고 그의 가곡에 있어서 피아노 반주부의 화성에 비중을 많이 두며 관현악적인 접근을 요구하였다. 그가 작곡한「오필리아의 세 개의 노래」는 윌리엄 셰익스피어(W. Shakespeare, 1564-1616)의 희곡 「햄릿(Hamlet)」에 등장하는 오필리아를 보고 영감을 받아 작곡한 곡이다. 프란시스 뿔랑은 20세기 초 유럽의 급변화로 인한 혼란 속에서 새롭게 등장한 신고전주의 음악을 추구했던 프랑스 작곡가이다. 형식과 선율에의 명확성과 단순성, 대위법의 부활 등 프랑스 고전에의 복귀를 주장하며 신고전적 스타일을 취하였다. 그의 「클라리넷과 피아노를 위한 소나타 FP. 184」는 이러한 신고전주의 양식의 대표적인 작품으로, 총 3악장으로 구성되어있고 제 1악장: Allegro Tristamente, 제 2악장: Romanza, 제 3악장: Allegro Con Fuoco로 이루어져 있다. 세자르 프랑크는 벨기에 출신의 프랑스 작곡가이자 오르간 연주자로 그의 작품은 종교적 색채가 강하고, 순환 형식과 반음계적 구성을 사용해 기악음악과 실내악의 기초를 다지는데 큰 공헌을 하였다. 그의 대표작인 「바이올린과 피아노를 위한 소나타 A장조」는 프랑크의 유일한 소나타로 그의 나이 64세 때 작곡되어 벨기에 출신의 바이올리니스트인 외젠느 이자이(E. Ysaye, 1858-1931)에게 헌정되었다. 전체 4악장으로 구성되어 있으며 순환 형식을 사용하고 있다. 필자는 이 논문을 통해 세 작곡가의 생애와 음악적 특징에 대해 알아보았고, 각 작품의 배경과 악곡 분석을 통해 더 나은 연주를 할 수 있도록 하였다.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.