View : 253 Download: 0

Full metadata record

DC Field Value Language
dc.description.abstractThe goal of this study is to search for the main characteristics of the works of Elliott Carter, who is one of the leading American contemporary composers of the twentieth century. In order to accomplish this, his String Quartet No.l will be analyzed. Before analyzing it, Carter's life, his musical tendency, compositional techniques and his String Quartet No. l were studied. The conclusions of this analysis of his String Quartet No. I are as follows ; This work is divided into three parts but is actually divided in four movements. The first movement, Fantasia, is composed of a three part form (A,B,C), the second movement, Allegro scorrevole, a two part form (A,B,A',B') the third movement, Adagio, a two part form (A,B), and the fourth movement, consists of variations. Considering thematic elements, the elements of the first Cadenza are applied to the whole work, thus the whole piece has a reoccuring organic cyclic structure. The main harmonies used in this Quartet are four-note chords (especially the one used in the first movement is all interval four-note chord 0, 1, 4, 6), three-note chords, major triads, minor triads, seventh chords, nineth chords, etc. Carter developed the whole work contrapuntally. This is not accomplished by constant imitation of the main melodies, but through presentation of different Characteristics of the themes by combining each of them. Carter introduced a new change in tempo by divising rhythmic metric modulation. In his String Quartet No. 1, Caster has shown various compositional techniques through the use of polymeter, polyrhythm, change meters, various dynamics and accents as well as melody and harmony.;본 연구는 20세기 미국의 대표적인 작곡가 중 현재 생존해 있는 Elliott Carter의 String Quartet No. 1을 분석 함으로써 그의 작품의 일면을 고찰한 것이다. 분석에 앞서서 Carter의 생애 및 그의 각시대에 따른 음악적 경향, 작곡기법 그리고 String Quartet No. 1에 대한 작품 내용을 살펴보았다. String Quartet No. 1의 분석을 통하여 살펴본 결과는 다음과 같다. 이 곡은 3부분으로 나누어져 있지만 실제로는 4악장으로 이루어져 있다. 1악장 Fantasia는 자유로운 3부분형식 (A, B, C), 2악장 Allegro scorrevole는 2부분형식 (A, B, A´, B´), 3악장 Adagio는 2부분형식 (A, B), 그러고 4악장은 변주곡이다. 주제적 요소들은 1악장 Cadenza의 요소들이 전악장에 응용되므로써 전 악장은 순환적 기능을 가지고 있다. 주된 화성은 4-note chord (특히 제 1악장은 all interval four-note chord. 0, 1, 4, 6), 3-note chord, 장단3화음, 장단7화음, 9화음 등을 사용 하였으며 전체 악장에 걸쳐서 대위법적으로 작품을 발전시켰다. 대위법은 모방에 의한 것이 아니며, 각각의 주제를 결합하므로써 각각 다른 특징을 나타내는 것이다. 리듬은 '박자의 전조(metric modulation)'를 고안하여 새로운 속도의 변화를 가져왔으며, 복박자, 변박자, 복리듬, 다이나믹변화, 악센트로 다양한 리듬기법을 나타내었다. 전반적으로 선율, 화성, 리듬, 다이나믹등 모든 면에서 대조적인 면을 많이 보여주고 있다.-
dc.description.tableofcontents목차 = ⅲ 논문개요 = ⅳ Ⅰ. 서론 = 1 Ⅱ. Elliott Carter의 생애 및 작품경향 = 3 A. Elliott Carter의 생애 = 3 B. 작품경향 = 5 C. 작곡기법 = 9 D. String Quartet No.1 작품설명 = 20 Ⅲ. String Quartet No.1 분석 = 21 A. 제1악장 Fantasia = 22 B. 2악장 Allegro scorrevole = 37 C. 제3악장 Adagio = 46 D. 4악장 Variations = 56 Ⅳ. 결론 = 66 참고문헌 = 67 ABSTRACT = 68 Carter의 작품목록 = 70-
dc.format.extent2352845 bytes-
dc.publisher이화여자대학교 대학원-
dc.subjectElliott Carter-
dc.titleElliott Carter의 String Quartet No. 1 분석-
dc.typeMaster's Thesis-
dc.format.page77 p.-
dc.identifier.major대학원 음악학과- 2-
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.