View : 221 Download: 0

Program Annotation

Program Annotation
Other Titles
Program Annotation : F. J. Haydn 「Piano Sonata in C Major Hob. XVI:50」S. Rachmaninoff 「Variations on a Theme of Corelli Op.42」M. Ravel 「Le Tombeau de Couperin」
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원
The following research is presented in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree, Master of Music. It presents brief information regarding each composer and explanations of their compositions performed in the graduation recital. The pieces in the recital program are, Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob.XVI:50 by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809); Variations on a Theme of Corelli, Opus 42 by Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943); Le Tombeau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937). As a representative composer of the classical period, Joseph Haydn played a leading role in developing and perfecting the sonata form one of the most fundamental genres of the classical style of music. Throughout his lifetime, he composed 52 piano sonatas and the Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob.XVI:50, written during his late period (1794 and 1795), it is consisted of three movements: the first movement of C major (Allegro), the second movement of F Major (Adagio), and the short but intense third movement of C Major (Allegro molto). The first movement shows a monothematic tendency which is a representative technique found in Haydn’s compositions in which the first and the second theme appear in a similar form. The second movement is in a slower tempo, Andante, with singing melodies and there are several cadenza like a passages. The final movement is a short but splendid musical piece wherein the tension is achieved through unresolved chords and sudden pauses. Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) is a Russian composer who was also a concert pianist in 19th and 20th century. Not sympathizing with the avant-garde or contemporary musical trends such as atonality, nor impressionism of the time. Instead, his compositions and pianism adhered to the tradition of the Romantic style. He composed and performed in popular styles in his contemporary, and his music is rich in melody and lyricism while firmly based on splendid and virtuosic technique. Variations on a theme of Corelli, Opus 4 (written in 1931) is a set of variations for solo piano, which is one of his later works. It is a brilliant and virtuosic variation based on the melody of ‘La Folia’ composed by Arcangello Corelli (1653-1713)’s representative work, Violin Sonata Opus 5 in d minor, no.12. Maurice Ravel (1875-1935) is a French composer, pianist and conductor who represented impressionism along with Claude Debussy (1862-1918). However, his compositions more clearly displayed aspects of classical style. Strongly influenced by his mother of Basque-Spanish heritage, he showed interest in Spain and Spanish folk dance music. He used new and innovative timbre, melodic outlines, and rhythmic phrase within conventional classical structures to establish a unique musical style. His last piano solo, Le Tombeau de Couperin (1917), a suite of a total six movements (Prelude, Fugue, Forlane, Rigaudon, Menuet, Toccata). The suite exhibits the characteristics of neoclassicism more than that of impressionism. In each movement, one can find a harmony between the classical elements of definite form, organized rhythm and balanced structure; and the impressionistic elements such as chords of ninth, eleventh, and thirteenth and the progression of chromatic melody.;본 연구는 본인의 석사과정 졸업연주 프로그램인 Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)의 「Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:50」와 Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)의 「Variations on a Theme of Corelli, Op.42」와 Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)의 「Le Tombeau de Couperin」에 대한 작품 해설이다. 하이든은 고전시대의 대표적인 작곡가로써 고전시대의 가장 중심이 된 소나타 형식을 완성하는데 선도적인 역할을 하였다. 그는 52곡의 피아노 소나타를 작곡하였는데「Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:50」은 후기 소나타에 속하는 곡으로 제1악장은 Allegro의 소나타 형식으로 이루어진 C Major, 제2악장은 Adagio의 F Major, 제3악장은 Allegro molto로 짧고 강렬한 C Major로 3악장 구성이다. 제1악장은 제1주제와 제2주제가 유사한 형태로 등장하는 하이든의 대표적 작곡기법인 단일 주제적(monothematic)인 경향을 보이고, 제2악장에서는 느린 소나타형식으로 노래 하는듯한 선율이 사용되었으며 자유로운 형식의 카덴차적인 음형이 특징적이다. 제3악장은 해결되지 않은 화음과 휴지부를 통해 긴장감을 주는 짧고 화려한 곡이다. 라흐마니노프는 러시아 출신 피아니스트 및 작곡가로 19세기에서 20세기에 걸쳐 활동했다. 그는 당시의 무조성, 인상주의 등 현대 음악적 경향에 동조하지 않고 낭만적 전통을 고수하며 대중적인 음악 스타일을 보여주었고, 그의 음악에는 화려한 테크닉을 바탕으로 풍부한 선율성과 서정성이 잘 표현되어 있다. 「Variations on a theme of Corelli, Op.42」는 그가 말년에 쓴 피아노 작품 중 하나로 아르칸젤로 코렐리 (Arcangello Corelli, 1653-1713)의 대표적인 작품 의 “라 폴리아 (La Folia)”선율을 주제로 한 화려하고 기교적인 변주곡이다. 라벨은 드뷔시 (Claude. Debussy, 1862-1918)와 함께 인상주의를 대표하는 프랑스 출신 작곡가지만 고전주의적 경향을 보다 뚜렷하게 보여준 작곡가이다. 스페인계 어머니의 영향으로 스페인의 민속춤곡 등에 관심이 많았으며, 새로운 음색법이나 윤곽이 있는 선율선, 규칙적인 프레이즈를 사용함으로써 고전주의 형식의 틀을 활용하여 독자적인 음악세계를 구축하였다. 그의 마지막 피아노 독주곡인 「Le Tombeau de Couperin (1917)」은 인상주의적이기 보다는 신고전주의적 경향을 잘 보여주는 곡이다. 프렐류드(Prelude), 푸가(Fugue), 포를란(Forlane), 리고동(Rigaudon), 미뉴에트(Menuet), 토카타(Toccata) 의 총 6곡으로 이루어진 각 모음곡은 분명한 형식, 정돈된 리듬, 균형 잡힌 악곡구조의 고전주의적인 요소와 9도, 11도, 13도 화성의 사용, 반음계적 진행 등 인상주의적인 요소가 조화를 이루고 있다.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.