View : 134 Download: 0

Ludwig van Beethoven 12 Variations on a Theme from G. F. Händel's "Judas Maccabaeus" for Violoncello and Piano in G Major Op. 45의 연구 및 분석

Ludwig van Beethoven 12 Variations on a Theme from G. F. Händel's "Judas Maccabaeus" for Violoncello and Piano in G Major Op. 45의 연구 및 분석
Other Titles
A study on Ludwig van Beethoven, 12 Variations on a Theme from G. F. Händel's "Judas Maccabaeus" for Violoncello and Piano in G Major Op. 45
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), a representative composer of the classical period in the latter half of the 18th century, is one of the three great masters of the classical period, together with Hayden (Franz Joseph Haydn, 1732-1809) and Mozart (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1756-1791). In the classical period, while L. v. Beethoven was active as a composer, the trend among contemporary composers was to compose variations on themes that were either trendy melodies or their own compositions. Normally, these were‘strict variations’wherein the framework of the theme melody was maintained with only minute changes to the motif. L. v. Beethoven too used the theme and variations forms of the classical period . Ludwig van Beethoven’s 12 Variations on 'See the conqu'ring hero comes' from G. F. Händel's Judas Maccabaeus is an early work of his, where the 12 movements exhibit the infinite potential for variation within the theme melody of Händel’s oratorio. Described in terms of introduction, development, turn, and conclusion, the variations thicken in texture from the first variation onwards, reaching their climax in variation 10. A bridge passage follows before the last movement, which ends in a coda. This very well demonstrates the universal characteristics of classical period musical style . The present study aims to analyze the piece at hand. More specifically, the study will examine how the 12 different variations remain associated with one another while making up the piece’s introduction, development, turn, and conclusion, and how harmonic progression takes place within the inter-association of variations. Lastly, the flow of the theme melody in each variation will be analyzed together with the changes in rhythm, key, and beat, etc. used to create the variations in an attempt to identify in further detail the theme and variations style unique to Beethoven’s early years. It is hoped that through this study, we will be able to better understand the unique theme and variations style that he pursued, taking one step closer to the musical philosophy that he demands so that we may be able to play his pieces with more depth and exactitude.;루트비히 반 베토벤(Ludwig van Beethoven, 1770-1827)은 18세기 후반 고전주의 음악의 대표적인 작곡가로 프란츠 요제프 하이든(Franz Joseph Haydn, 1732-1809)과 볼프강 아마데우스 모차르트(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1756-1791)와 함께 고전주의 3대 거장이다. 베토벤의 작곡시기인 고전주의양식에는 그 당시 작곡가들 사이에서 유행하는 멜로디나 본인이 작곡한 주제를 갖고 많은 변주곡을 작곡하였다. 보통 주제가 되는 멜로디의 골격을 그대로 유지한 채 세밀하게 음형만을 변화시키던‘엄격변주’가 대부분이었으며 베토벤 역시 고전주의의 변주 형식을 사용하였다. 본 논문에서 다루게 될 베토벤의 헨델의 <유다스 마카베우스(Judas Maccabaeus)> 주제에 의한 12변주곡은 그의 초기 작품으로 12개의 악장에서 헨델의 오라토리오의 주제멜로디가 지닌 변화가능성을 무한대로 보여준다. 테마부터 마지막 악장까지 테마를 지나 제 1 변주부터 다음 변주곡으로 지나갈수록 점차 텍스처가 두꺼워 지며 마침내 제 10 변주에서는 클라이막스로 치닫게 된다. 그리고 다시 경과부를 지나 마지막 악장으로 진행되면서 코다로 마무리 되는데 이는 고전주의 양식의 보편적인 특성을 아주 잘 나타내어진다. 따라서 본 논문에 다룰 이 곡의 분석을 통하여 각 주제마다 성격이 다른 12변주곡들이 서로 어떻게 연관성을 가지면서 기승전결을 이루어 내는지, 또한 연관성 안에서 어떻게 화성의 변화가 이루어지는지 분석해볼 것이고, 마지막으로 변주곡으로서 각 악장마다 주제적 선율의 흐름과 다양한 변주를 위해 사용된 리듬, 음정, 박자 등 의 변화를 살펴보며 좀 더 베토벤만의 전기 변주곡양식을 자세하게 파악하고자 한다. 이 연구를 통하여 베토벤이 추구한 자신만의 독창적인 변주곡 양식을 이해하며 그가 요구하는 음악적 세계관에 한걸음 더 다가가 앞으로 베토벤의 곡을 연주함에 있어 한층 더 깊이 있고 정확한 연주를 위함을 기대한다.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.