View : 69 Download: 0

배빗의 음렬기법을 통한 분석 연구

배빗의 음렬기법을 통한 분석 연구
Other Titles
An Analysis on the Row Techniques of Milton Babbitt : String Quartet, No. 4 (1970) and The Joy of More Sextets (1986)
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원
One of the most significant composers and theorists of serial music in the twentieth century, Milton Babbitt, accepted Schoenberg's twelve-tone system and extended it to include rhythm, dynamics, articulation, instrumentation, tempo, and timbre. His works can be divided into three periods, first (1947-60), second (1961-80), and third (1981-2011), each of which shows specific compositional techniques. The purpose of this thesis is to explore Babbitt's serial and compositional techniques and to analyze three of his works in order by date. Part Ⅰ is an introduction of methods for studying Babbitt's works. In addition, it describes his strong influences on and brilliant exploits in writing serial music and then clarifies the purpose of this study. Part Ⅱ is an explanation of Babbitt's serial techniques such as trichordal array, all-partition array, and superarray. In addition, the application of Schenker's theory and terminology, "composing-out" to Babbitt's serialism helps to understand his music as showing the 'systematic hierarchy.' Part Ⅲ is an actual analysis of two works, String Quartet No. 4 (1970) in the second period and The Joy of More Sextets (1986) in the third period. The analysis of these works is based in part on the work of Mead and Dubiel. In addition, Straus’s analytic approach to the associative relationship between set structures provides a primary method of study. Most important, Schenker's composing-out is used to examine the hierarchy structure of the background, the twelve-tone series, and the foreground musical surface within the array structure of Babbitt's music. All of these processes provide a good opportunity to explore Babbitt's music and to present a new point of view on which to base subsequent research.;아르놀트 쇤베르크(Arnold Schoenberg, 1874-1951)에 의해 창안된 12음 기법(twelve-tone music)은 그의 제자인 알반 베르크(Alban Berg, 1885-1935)와 안톤 베베른(Anton Webern, 1983-1945)에게 계승되었다. 이후 12음 음악은 수많은 무조 음악을 비롯한 조성 이후의 작품에서 보편적인 작곡 기법으로 자리 잡았으며, 미국은 유럽 중심의 음악적 흐름에서 벗어나 독자적인 음렬 기법을 완성해갔다. 미국의 작곡가이자 음악 이론가인 밀턴 배빗(Milton Babbitt, 1916-2011)은 쇤베르크가 사용한 음고(pitch) 중심의 12음 기법을 바탕으로 한층 더 발전을 이루어 리듬, 다이내믹, 아티큘레이션, 관현악법, 빠르기, 음색 등 다양한 음악적 요소들에 이르기까지 음렬의 적용 범위를 확장했다. 또한, 그는 많은 저서와 논문을 통해 음렬음악의 용어와 기법들을 확립하였으며, 이를 토대로 그만의 독창적이면서도 고도화된 음렬 작법을 제시하여 이후 세대들에게 음렬음악의 다양한 가능성을 열어주었다. 본 논문은 배빗이 초기의 주요 음렬 기법으로 사용한 3음군 행렬(trichordal array)과 3음군 유도 집합(trichordal derived set) 등의 3음군(trichord) 중심의 음렬 구조에서부터 중기의 전분할 행렬(all-partition array), 그리고 마지막으로 후기의 수퍼행렬(superarray)에 이르기까지 세 시기에 걸쳐 폭넓게 발전된 그의 작곡 기법에 대해 살펴보고자 한다. 또한, 배빗의 음렬 구조에 대한 연구와 더불어 그의 음렬 기법이 초기보다 더욱 체계적으로 발전되어 집대성된 중기와 후기의 두 작품을 분석함으로써 배빗이 작품 안에서 하나의 음렬을 기초로 이를 어떻게 조직화하고 발전시켜 선율을 형성하도록 하는지를 중점적으로 살펴보고자 한다. 특히, 음렬에서부터 선율에 이르기까지 그의 음악이 단계적으로 발전되어져 가는 경로를 살펴보는 과정을 통해 작품 안에서 음렬과 선율이 서로 어떠한 연관관계를 형성하고 있으며, 배빗이 그의 음악적 아이디어를 어떠한 체계적인 방법으로 구체화하고 있는지를 살펴볼 수 있을 것으로 보인다.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.