View : 140 Download: 0

Leonard Bernstein의 「Chichester Psalms」 연구

Leonard Bernstein의 「Chichester Psalms」 연구
Other Titles
"Chichester Psalms", with emphasis on the Psalm texts
Issue Date
대학원 음악학부
이화여자대학교 대학원
본 논문은 번스타인(Leonard Bernstein, 1918-1990)의 「치체스터 시편」 (Chichester Psalms)을 연구한 것이다. 번스타인은 20세기 미국음악의 대표적인 작곡가와 지휘자로 널리 알려져 있다. 그는 미국으로 이주한 유대인의 가정에서 자라나 유대적인 문화와 미국적인 문화를 함께 받아들임으로써 자신만의 독창적인 음악양식을 담아내었다. 본 논문에서는 번스타인의 생애를 작곡가의 활동과 지휘자의 활동으로 나누어 소개하였으며, 번스타인의 작곡기법을 선율, 리듬, 화성, 형식으로 나누어 정리하였다. 그리고 「치체스터 시편」을 연구하면서 가사의 이해를 돕기 위해 「치체스터 시편」에 나오는 시편주석을 정리하였고, 음악분석을 통하여 다양한 작곡기법을 소개하였다. 「치체스터 시편」은 구약성서의 시편원문인 히브리어 가사로 작곡되었으며 3악장으로 구성되었다. 이 곡의 1악장은 하나님을 향한 기쁨의 감사 찬양이며, 7/8박자의 빠른 리듬이나 타악기의 등장이 곡에 활기를 더해주고 있다. 2악장에서는 시편가사를 재현하였는데, 하프와 소년독창으로 다윗이 찬양하던 때를 표현한 것과 메시야를 부정하는 사람들을 향해 하나님께서 비웃으신다는 내용을 카논(canon)기법과 호모포닉(homophonic)양식을 적절히 사용하여 당시의 긴장감을 살려내고 있다. 마지막으로 3악장은 형제들과의 연합을 주제로 하나의 멜로디를 남성과 여성, 합창과 오케스트라 등으로 짝을 이루어 하나 됨을 표현하였다. 「치체스터 시편」은 3악장으로 구성되어 있지만 전체적으로 믹소리디안 선법과 장조 조성으로 이루어져 있으며, 1악장 도입부와 종지부에서 보여진 선율이 3악장의 도입부와 종지부에서 모방되어 전체적으로 통일성을 주고 있다. 이와 같이「치체스터 시편」에 사용되었던 시편가사와 함께 음악기법을 정리하여 소개하였다.;This thesis is a study of the "Chichester Psalms" by Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990). Bernstein was one of the representative American composers of the 20th Century, well-known as a composer and conductor. He grew up in a Jewish family which immigrated to the United States. He incorporated in his unique creative musical form influences from both Jewish and American cultures. The life of Bernstein as introduced in this thesis is divided into his life as a composer and his life as a conductor. Bernstein's composing technique is classified according to melody, rhythm, harmony and forms. Further, in this study of the "Chichester Psalms", the psalms appearing in the work have been organized in order to help the reader understand the texts, while examples of Bernstein's varied composing techniques have been shown through the musical analysis. "Chichester Psalms" consists of Psalm texts in Hebrew which was the original text of the Old Testament in the Bible and consists of three movements. The first movement of this piece is a setting of Psalm, which is a hymn of thanks and joy toward God. The emergence of a fast rhythm in seven-eight time with percussion instrument adds energy to the music. The second movement expresses the texts of Psalms. He gives life to the tension by expressing the time when David sang praises with the harp by using a solo for boy soprano, followed bythe scene where God mocks the people who deny the Messiah by appropriately using canon technique and homophonic style. Lastly, the third movement based on Psalm expresses the concept of unity by making one melody paring men's and women's voices, chorus and orchestra, with the theme of the union of brothers. Although this work is composed o three movements, it is generally in the Mixolidian mode with major key tonality. It is also permeated by a sense of unity with the introduction and finale of the third movement imitating the introduction and finale of the first movement.
Show the fulltext
Appears in Collections:
일반대학원 > 음악학부 > Theses_Master
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
RIS (EndNote)
XLS (Excel)


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.